confessionsofabookaholic

A blog to share my enthusiasm for books.

Favourite Poems …………….Roald Dahl

One of my all time favourites.  ‘Rhyme Stew‘ is published by Penguin 1989 and my copy is filched from my younger daughter.

Portrait of Roald Dahl,1954 Apr. 20

Portrait of Roald Dahl,1954 Apr. 20 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A LITTLE NUT TREE

I had a little nut-tree,

Nothing would it bear.

I searched in all its branches,

But not a nut was there.

“Oh, little tree,” I begged

“Give me just a few.”

The little tree looked down at me

And whispered, “Nuts to you.”

A HAND IN THE BIRD

I’m a maiden who is forty,

And a maiden I shall stay,

There are some who call me haughty,

But I care not what they say.

I was running the tombola

At our church bazaar today,

And doing it with gusto

In my usual jolly way…..

When suddenly, I knew not why,

There came a funny feeling

Of something crawling up my thigh!

I nearly hit the ceiling!

A mouse! I thought.  How foul!  How mean!

How exquisitely tickly!

Quite soon I know I’m going to scream.

I’ve got to catch it quickly.

I made a grab. I caught the mouse,

Now right inside my knickers.

A mouse my foot!  It was a HAND!

Great Scott!  It was the vicar’s!

Web sites featuring Roald Dahl

http://www.roalddahl.com/

http://www.roalddahlfans.com/

http://www.roalddahlmuseum.org/

2 comments on “Favourite Poems …………….Roald Dahl

  1. Eagle-Eyed Editor
    May 19, 2012

    I didn’t know Roald Dahl was also a poet. Interesting.

    • ijkblogger
      May 19, 2012

      He wrote some really funny stuff……………Revolting Rhymes being the most popular collection.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2012 by in book review, books, humour, laughter, poetry, reading and books, Roald Dahl and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

