confessionsofabookaholic

A blog to share my enthusiasm for books.

Favourite Poems ……………. Andrew Marvell

From ‘To His Coy Mistress and other poems’ published by Dover Thrift Editions 1997

THE MOWER TO THE GLOWWORMS

Andrew Marvell, English poet.

Andrew Marvell, English poet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ye living lamps, by whose dear light

the nightingale does sit so late,

And studying all the summer-night,

Her matchless songs does mediate.

Ye country comets, that portend

No war, nor prince’s funeral,

Shining unto no higher end

Than to presage the grass’s fall;

Ye glowworms, whose officious flame

To wand’ring mowers shows the way,

That in the night have lost their aim,

And after foolish fires do stray;

Your courteous lights in vain you waste,

Since Juliana here is come,

For she my mind hath so displac’d

That I shall never find my home.

THE FAIR SINGER

To make a final conquest of all me,

Love did compose so sweet an enemy,

In whom both beauties to my death agree,

Joining themselves in fatal harmony;

That while she with her eyes my heart does bind,

She with her voice might captivate my mind.

I could have fled from one but singly fair:

My disentangled soul itself might save,

Breaking the curled trammels of her hair.

But how should I avoid to be her slave,

Whose subtle art invisibly can wreathe

My fetters of the very air I breathe?

It had been easy fighting in some plain,

Where victory might hang in equal choice,

But all resistance against her is vain,

Who has th’ advantage both of eyes and voice,

And all my forces needs must be undone,

She having gained both the wind and sun.

websites with  more information about and poems of Andrew Marvell:

http://www.poets.org/amarv/

http://www.bartleby.com/101/357.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Marvell

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2012 by in Andrew Marvell, book review, books, poetry, reading and books and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

