confessionsofabookaholic

A blog to share my enthusiasm for books.

Favourite Poems…………. Emily Dickinson

Emily dickinson

Emily dickinson (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My edition is Emily Dickinson, Selected Poems published by Phoenix Poetry

I don’t actually understand a lot of what she’s saying and I don’t really understand why she uses so many dashes…..I just like the sound of the poems.  I have a York Notes to help but most of the poems in the commentary aren’t in my poetry book.  Her poems don’t have titles, just numbers.

250

I shall keep singing!

Birds will pass me

On their way to Yellower Climes –

Each – with a Robin’s expectation –

I – with my Redbreast –

And my rhymes –

Late – when I take my place in summer –

But – I shall bring a fuller tune –

Vespers – are sweeter that Matins – Signor –

Morning – only the seed of Noon –

288

I’m Nobody! Who are you?

Are you – Nobody – Too?

Then there’s a pair of us?

Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!

How dreary – to be – Somebody!

How public – like a Frog –

To tell one’s name – the livelong June –

To an admiring Bog!

338

I know that He exists.

Somewhere – in Silence –

He has hid his rare life

From our gross eyes.

‘Tis an instant’s play.

‘Tis a fond Ambush –

Just to make Bliss

Earn her own surprise!

But – should the play

Prove piercing earnest –

Should the glee – glaze –

In Death’s – stiff – stare –

Would not the fun

Look too expensive!

Would not the jest –

Have crawled too far!

Links to Emily Dickinson:

http://www.poets.org/edick/

http://www.bartleby.com/113/

http://www.online-literature.com/dickinson/

3 comments on “Favourite Poems…………. Emily Dickinson

  1. Pingback: To Keep Or Not To Keep The Last Phrase In This Poem? « Poems That Dance

  2. Pingback: A favourite poem, what’s yours? « poetArt

  3. Pingback: To see the Summer Sky Is Poetry ~Emily Dickinson « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2012 by in book review, books, Emily DIckinson, poetry, reading and books and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

